Wedding Stationery – How much is there to REALLY think about?!?!?

So, you’re newly engaged and the first thing on your mind is THE DRESS!!!!

Does that sound right?  I know that was how I felt.  Once I had my dress, I figured everything else would be easy.  Haha.  Boy was I wrong.  The little details can sneak up on you…I was fortunate enough to have a fabulous friend who planned events so she gave me a handy little excel spreadsheet to track my budget and “the details”.  Within that spreadsheet was a pretty large section about stationery.  Before that day, I never really considered all of the things that truly fall under the category of “stationery”.

Of course there are the Save the Dates, which is the first step in the process and are typically done 12 months prior to your wedding date.  Some people choose not to send out save the dates, some people like sending them out.  If you’re getting married during the summer or over a holiday, this may be something for you to consider as it will give your guests as much notice as possible.

Then come the Wedding Invitations!   (This is one of my favourite designs from this year….)

This is a pocketfold invitation with envelope and liner designed for a bride having a summer wedding with a vintage feel. 
Image Source : http://www.uptowndesigns.ca

Sounds simple, right?  Maybe, maybe not.  I’m sure you’ve heard it many times before, but the invitation sets the tone for your wedding.  It will help your guests understand how to dress, what sort of gift to buy, and what to expect on the big day!  All of this is conveyed by the papers, style, and wording of your invitation.

If I were to do it again, I probably would go for letterpress invitations…I dream of letterpress invitations.  I kid you not.
Take this one for example –

This invitation is exquisite (in my humble opinion).  It is simple and elegant…and my favourite part?

The edge painting….aaaahhhh the edge painting.  I am a total paper nerd.  🙂

Combine all of that with a fabulous envelope liner and I would be a very happy bride.

Alas…I am no longer the bride.  You are.

Your stationer will certainly try to get a feel for the style of event you’re going for in order to incorporate your ideas into your invitation suite.  Your job?  Figure out the atmosphere you are going for at your event.  If you want an elegant affair, make sure your invitations emulate that.  The same goes if you’re having a backyard BBQ with an ice cream truck!  Either way, have fun with the process…

The other items to consider are seating chart, place cards, menus, favour tags/signs and table numbers.  Those are the most common things to think about.

More to come on that subject in a couple of weeks!

Have a wonderful Thursday!!!

xo Danika

Leave a Reply

