Sisterhood of the Travelling Wedding Dress

Good morning!!!  I am SO excited today!!!!!!!!!!

Seriously, today is a fabulous day for a couple of reasons!  One – my youngest turns four today!  Two – my wedding dress is in North Carolina and will be worn by a fabulous bride there today.  πŸ™‚

I’m not sure how this lovely lady stumbled across my blog, but she’s been reading my posts for a while now and this is where the story begins.  Don’t worry, it isn’t too long!  πŸ™‚

I received an e-mail on a Saturday night just over two weeks ago asking me for help.  This obviously peaked my interest.  The first line was

I LOVE YOUR BLOG.  < –  Fyi – compliments get you anything you want!!!  Hahahaha!  Okay, maybe not but they do make things better (and make people smile).

She went on to tell me her story….I won’t get into all the details, but the most important ones are these:

She was getting married on my son’s birthday (she didn’t know this at the time) and they were planning their wedding in just over two weeks.

She went on to tell me how in love she is and how she is the luckiest person in the world.  Being a hopeless romantic, my heart was melting a bit (okay a lot).

Kristine told me how much she wanted to surprise him and look beautiful on her wedding day for him.  (just as and FYI, she is gorgeous!)

Here’s the kicker – she asked if she could rent my dress.  Huh?  Well, I still have my wedding dress and had planned on doing a trash the dress that never happened so I hadn’t even had in cleaned!!!!!!  Totally embarrassing!!!!!

Here’s a picture of me in the dress taken by the fabulous Angela Smith http://www.angelasmith.ca ->

Snow20100807_0076

I kind of felt like it was fate for Kristine to wear my dress on her special day.  

 So, I told her I would ship it to her and that she could have it with the expectation that she pass it along to someone else when she was done and that they send their story to me as well.  I guess we’ll just have to wait and see what happens!

I LOVED my dress.  It was the first one that I had tried on and I didn’t need to look at any others.  I felt like a princess on my wedding day and I hope she feels like a princess today as well!

Happy Tuesday!

Happy 4th birthday to my awesome little man!

Happy wedding day to you and the love of your life Kristine!

Have a fabulous day all!!!!

xo Danika

 

 

 

Comments

  1. Danika that is just so wonderful!!!! I hope she sends you pictures that you can share πŸ™‚

  2. ~Kristine says:

    Beautiful Danika~
    Your heart and soul are as lovely as you are beautiful.~
    Today I married my best friend,~ the love of my life and soulmate.
    *Because of your kindness~ I was able to feel like the most beautiful bride. ~ More importantly~
    he thought I looked like that too πŸ™‚ In two weeks we were able to pull off what I now call “my dream wedding” πŸ™‚ <3<3
    ~The dress looked amazing! ~I had a "famous" photographer from NC whom just about volunteered her time photograph~ and I even sat in a "pose" similar to your wedding photo above ~so "the dress" may continue it's journey to the next "bride".
    The sisterhood of the traveling dress is beginning a new journey to the next bride whose only sincere responsibility is to guard their choice of whom they will bestow it with next, and forward photos to you…..all they will know is your story, my story , their story and so on.
    My photographer will send our photos this week and you will so happy ( I hope ) when you see them.~ So stand by πŸ™‚
    ~It was 80 degrees today,~ not a cloud in the sky, slight breeze and "all the planets aligned" so our day was heavenly~.
    Because of your kind gesture~ I did get to be a "Princess" for the day too…
    *A beautiful Canadian brunette , a Southern blonde from NC, ~and fate will lead us to the next
    bride… The "Sisterhood of the Traveling Gown"~ to be continued………
    xo
    ~Kristine
    P.S. Happy, Happy 4th Birthday to your adorable little guy !!!!!!!
    and my sincerest heartfelt thank you to your husband as well!

    • Hello Kristine!

      It sounds like your day was absolutely perfect! πŸ™‚
      I am truly honoured to have played a part in it and I am SO beyond excited to see the photos!

      Congratulations on marrying the love of your life! I wish you both a lifetime of happiness!

      Have a fabulous day!!

      xoxoxox

      Danika

      p.s. – Thank you for the birthday wishes to my son. He had a great day as well! πŸ™‚

  3. Michelle says:

    Oh wow, shivers. What a nice letter from Kristine on her wedding day wearing your dress. Can’t wait to see the pics either!

Trackbacks

  1. […] dress to a beautiful bride in North Carolina! If you missed that story, you can check it out here Travelling Dress and part two here Travelling Dress part […]

Leave a Reply

