A practically perfect Sunday…

Happy Monday!!!!!!

This past weekend some friends and I went for a fabulous day of wine tasting at a few choice wineries in the Niagara region of Ontario.  We sampled a whole lot of wine, some yummy chocolates, and some seriously amazing cheese and I couldn’t resist sharing a little about these places with all of you(these could spark an idea for wedding location!)!

My favourite by far was Megalomaniac.  This winery is underground and set in the top of a hill overlooking Niagara and Hamilton.

I’m not sure if I was more impressed by the location or the branding of this company.  You can certainly tell the owner is passionate about wine and has a great sense of humour.  The wine is fabulous and honestly…who would name a Riesling “Narcissist” or a Pinot Noir named “sonofabitch” <- this wasn’t available yet, but you can bet that I’m going back for a bottle!

Wondering where the name of the winery came from? -> “What’s with the name? I originally wanted to christen these wines in my name, John Hovard,…and then my good friends accused me of being yet another”[profanity withheld] Megalomaniac”. Regrettably, the name stuck.”

Our second stop was at Vineland Estates Winery.

This winery really does have a lot to offer.  A restaurant, a carriage house where you can host an intimate wedding, or a bed and breakfast for an anniversary perhaps?

We sampled several wines and while I am usually a red drinker, this winery sold me on their St. Urban Riesling (couldn’t resist taking one of these home!).

They also had a variety of chocolates and my favourite?  Salt and pepper…yes I said salt and pepper CHOCOLATE.  We’ve all experience the salted caramel ice cream, or a chocolate bar with sea salt sprinkled on top, but the salt and pepper chocolate was surprisingly delicious!

Our third stop was Stoney Ridge.

The wine here was fabulous (my favourite being a dessert wine called “Passion”), but they also have a very impressive cheese shop.  Impressive may be a slight understatement.  They had Irish Dubliner cheese and Irish cheddar with Guiness, but by far my favourites were a carmelized onion, and a mango ginger stilton cheese <- this tasted like cheesecake.

There are so many wineries in the region, and I love how each one had their own personality that was conveyed through their wines.

What a fantastic day with some equally fantastic ladies.  I would love to do it again sometime (or maybe steal my husband away for a weekend!).

Have a fabulous Monday!

xo Danika

Leave a Reply

