2011 in a nutshell…bring on 2012!!!

Happy New Year!

Wow….it’s hard to believe that 2011 is OVER…the year seemed to fly by so fast.  2011 was a super busy year for our family.  It was the first full year for Uptown Designs (Seriously exciting!).  We also bought a new home, which we renovated over the course of the summer and finally moved into the last weekend in August.  I’m REALLY excited about 2012.  It feels like it’s going to be an amazing year and it’s only January 2nd!!!

As a send off to 2011, I wanted to post some of my favourite designs of 2011 (yes, a little tooting of my own horn is in the works here).  Of course this wouldn’t be possible without the amazing brides that I had the honour of working with in 2011.  This is for all of you!

Personally, I am drawn to simple and elegant designs, which is why I kind of love the front of this invitation.  I designed this for a really sweet couple in April of this year originally and am working on a 2012 invitation right now with the same front.  🙂  It’s popular with the brides!

Grey, chartreuse, and white pocketfold invitation with bride and groom silhouette embossed on the front.

This particular invitation was another favourite!  The bride, Hanna really wanted a hand drawn picture of St. Lawrence Hall on her invitation as that is where her reception was.  She is also a little bit of an artist and drew the picture that I used in the design of this invitation.  I used the same picture on the envelope wrapper and I think it turned out pretty amazing!

Sparkling merlot, grey, and champagne Invitation

Here are some of my other favourites from 2011……

***All of the images in this post were taken by the very talented Angela Smith (she does wedding photography – Angela Smith Photography and baby photography – Along Came Baby)..oh…and ps…she was MY wedding photographer.

Thank you for helping me design something that was a reflection of your personality and your wedding! And a HUGE thank you for letting me play such a small part of your special day!  🙂

I’d also like to say a quick thank you to my friends and family for being so supportive during the first year of Uptown Designs being in business!!!

2012 is shaping up to be a busy year and I am so excited for everything in the works with our family and with Uptown Designs!!!

Wishing everyone a fabulous 2012!!!!!!!

xo Danika

p.s. – There are a few other favourites of mine from 2011, but those will be getting their own personal post in the coming weeks!

Leave a Reply

