To keep or not to keep…a personal post

Before I begin, I need to clarify that I am not a hoarder.  In fact, I kind of hate clutter!

There are a few things though that I have held onto over the years. One of those things that I’ve kept…NOTES, a box of notes in fact. They are the kind of notes you write your girlfriends while you’re bored out of your mind in 5th period English class. Most of them were about boys we liked, how much we couldn’t stand the class, or what party we’d be going to this weekend.  I recently found a box of these notes and decided to read through some (throw out most) and I came across this.

My friend and I must not have been getting along in high school (this NEVER happens between girlfriends by the way!!!!!) and she wrote me this poem:

Like an umbrella on a rainy day

Your friend is there to listen to what you say

Like butter with your bread

Your friend is there when the tears start to shed

When you feel no one understands you and you feel all alone

Your friend will be a listener to hear your sobbing moans

You may be tortured with a gun or tortured with a knife

But when you become friends, you are best friends for life.

The best part?  We’re still friends after meeting when we were nine so I called her, read it to her and both of us could hardly breathe from laughing so hard!  Haha!

This note is definitely a keeper.  🙂

Have a fabulous weekend…xo Danika

Comments

  1. Most definitely a keeper – that is such a precious thing to have – memories like that are far better to keep than just things.

  2. All I have to say is i do hope that whatever friend of your this is – that she is currently making millions off her poetry!

Leave a Reply

